28.7 C
Friday, May 29, 2020

All six Rajya Sabha candidates from TN elected unopposed

- Advertisement -

Citizenship Bill 2019 clears Rajya Sabha with 125 Ayes and 105 NoesChennai, March 18 (IANS) Two AIADMK, one Tamil Maanila Congress and three DMK candidates were declared elected unopposed to the Rajya Sabha from Tamil Nadu on Wednesday.

According to Election Officer and Legislative Assembly Secretary K.Srinivasan, all the six candidates whose nomination papers were found valid, have been elected to Rajya Sabha unopposed.

The six candidates are: M.Thambidurai, K.P.Munusamy (both AIADMK), G.K. Vasan of Tamil Maanila Congress, and N.R. Elango, Trichy N. Siva and Anthiyur Selvaraj (all DMK).

Vasan is being supported by the ruling AIADMK.

Six Rajya Sabha members from Tamil Nadu — Sasikala Pushpa, Vijila Sathyanath, S. Muthukaruppan, A.K. Selvaraj (all from AIADMK), Tiruchy Siva of DMK and T.K. Rangarajan of CPI-M — will retire on April 2.

Presently, the AIADMK has 10 members in the Rajya Sabha and the DMK five. Once the new members go to the Upper House, the AIADMK strength will fall to eight whereas DMK’s strength will increase to seven.


Follow Us For Latest Updates -

Related News


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Trending Topics

Covid 19 India Updates

Famous astrologer Bejan Daruwalla dies at 89

Gandhinagar, May 29 (IANS) Famous astrologer Bejan Daruwalla breathed his last on Friday in an Ahmedabad hospital. Daruwalla, 89, was admitted in the private...

Trending Right Now

Positive sign may come for malls and metro in Lockdown 5.0

New Delhi, May 29 (IANS) Three days ahead of completing 68-day countrywide lockdown, the Centre is learnt to have come up with a roadmap...