Four new ministers inducted in Goa cabinet

Today's Latest

India thrash SA in Ranchi, clinch Test series 3-0

Ranchi, Oct 22 (IANS) India registered an emphatic victory over South Africa by an innings and 202 runs in the...

SC grants bail to Chidambaram in INX Media corruption case

New Delhi, Oct 22 (IANS) The Supreme Court on Tuesday granted bail to former Finance minister P. Chidambaram in the...

Deepika, PV Sindhu will represent PM Modi’s Bharat Ki Laxmi

Mumbai, Oct 22 (IANS) Actress Deepika Padukone along with world badminton champion P.V. Sindhu will be representing Prime Minister Narendra...

Popular Today

Film ‘Hotel Mumbai’ made Anupam learn biggest lesson

Mumbai, Oct 22 (IANS) Veteran actor Anupam Kher says working in the film "Hotel Mumbai" made him learn the fact...

IAF to sign deal with HAl for 83 Tejas Light Combat Aircraft

New Delhi, Oct 22 (IANS) The Indian Air Force (IAF) is likely to sign a deal with Hindustan Aeronautics Ltd...

India is closest neighbour and Bangladesh’s friend forever: Tipu Munshi

Guwahati, Oct 22 (IANS) Bangladesh Minister of Commerce Tipu Munshi has said India is not only its closest neighbour but...
India Updates
India Updates is an independent news & Information website. Follow us for regular updates on News and Information.

Four new ministers inducted in Goa cabinet Panaji, July 13 (IANS) Three Congress rebels — Chandrakant Kavlekar, Jennifer Monserrate and Filipe Nery Rodrigues — along with former Deputy Speaker Michael Lobo were sworn in as ministers during a formal ceremony at Raj Bhavan here on Saturday.

The Congress rebels had joined the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Wednesday. Kavlekar, a former leader of opposition, is tipped to be the deputy Chief Minister.

- Advertisement -

The swearing-in ceremony followed sacking of four non-BJP ministers by Chief Minister Pramod Sawant after a daylong stand-off. During the stand-off, Vijai Sardesai, Vinod Palienkar, Jayesh Salgaocar — all ministers from Goa Forward Party — and Rohan Khaunte (Independent) refused to resign as per the Chief Mininster’s request.

Only one non-BJP minister Govind Gaude survived the cull on Saturday.

Speaking to reporters on the sidelines of the swearing-in ceremony, state BJP president Vinay Tendulkar said it had become a nationwide trend for leaders from other political parties to join the BJP.

“Leaders across the country, including Karnataka, are joining the BJP by leaving the Congress. This is a trend,” he told reporters.

When asked about the disillusionment of the party cadre over induction of 10 Congress MLAs into the BJP on Wednesday, Tendulkar said, “The workers will have to tolerate this and all of us should go ahead together”.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Must Read

Ola launched its self-drive cab rental service in Bengaluru

Bengaluru, Oct 17 (IANS) There is one more reason not to own a car now as ride-hailing major Ola on...

Airtel tops in fastest download speed, Jio tops 4G availability

New Delhi, Oct 22 (IANS) Bharti Airtel has displayed fastest download speeds of 9.6 mbps and best video experience across all telecom circles in India,...

Nirvani Akhara files note on right to manage deity’s worship

New Delhi, Oct 22 (IANS) The Supreme Court on Tuesday allowed Nirvani Akhara, one of the Hindu parties in Ayodhya title dispute, to file a...

Kartarpur agreement likely to be signed on Oct 24

New Delhi, Oct 22 (IANS) The signing of the Kartarpur Corridor agreement between India and Pakistan is likely to be postponed by a day due...

Railways to spend Rs 18,000 cr to run trains at 160 kmph

New Delhi, Oct 22 (IANS) In a bid to increase the speed of the trains up to 160 kmph on the busy Delhi-Howrah and Delhi-Mumbai...

More Articles Like This