Wednesday, January 27, 2021

Party is over for Samajwadi family, gain for BJP

- Advertisement -

Party is over for Samajwadi family, gain for BJPThe defeat of three members of the Samajwadi Party — Dimple Yadav, Dharmendra Yadav and Akshay Yadav — is perhaps the biggest jolt that SP chief Akhilesh Yadav has received in recent times.

Dimple Yadav lost in Kannauj, Dharmendra Yadav lost in Badaun and Akshay Yadav lost in Ferozabad. All three were sitting MPs in the 16th Lok Sabha.

The results of the Lok Sabha elections clearly indicate that the Samajwadi Party, despite its alliance with BSP, had emerged as a major loser. The party had won five seats within the family in 2014 and the tally went up to 8 seats last year when SP won by-elections in Gorakhpur, Phulpur and Kairana.

In the just concluded election, SP is back with five seats. The party has won two for the family — Mulayam Singh Yadav in Mainpuri and Akhilesh Yadav in Azamgarh. Three other candidates who have won are Azam Khan in Rampur, Shafiqur-rehman Warq in Sambhal and S.T. Hasan in Moradabad. The three candidates outside the family are all Muslims.

READ ALSO:  ‘Here to serve our farmers’: Modi allays fears over farm Bills

A senior SP leader, who spoke on condition of anonymity, said on Friday: “The alliance has proved to be a horrible mistake and it did not percolate down to the grassroots level. We stood our ground in the Modi wave of 2014 but this time, there is nothing to feel good about.

“Senior party leaders have lost elections and criticism will soon begin against the decision to ally with BSP which has availed the advantage of the alliance.”

READ ALSO:  High-powered panel for structural reforms in agriculture: Modi

The Bahujan Samaj Party, on the other hand, has managed to revive itself with the alliance. The party which had not won even a single seat in 2014, has won ten seats this time.

The party has won Ambedkar Nagar, Amroha, Ghazipur, Ghosi, Jaunpur, Lalganj, Nagina, Saharanpur, Bijnore and Shravasti.

It is clear that the Samajwadi Party did transfer its votes to BSP on these seats but the BSP vote did not get transferred to SP candidates.

READ ALSO:  ‘Here to serve our farmers’: Modi allays fears over farm Bills

Another major casualty of the alliance has been the Rashtriya Lok Dal. The party contested three seats-Baghpat, Muzaffarnagar and Mathura and has lost all three. Chaudhary Ajit Singh and his son Jayant Chaudhary are among the losers.


India Updates
India Updates is an independent news & Information website. Follow us for regular updates on News and Information.

Follow Us On

Related News


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Trending Topics In India

Covid 19 India Updates

Trending News In India

Trending Showbiz

Trending Sports

Latest Trending News In India

YouTube paid $30B to creators, artists in last 3 years: CEO

New Delhi, Jan 27 (IANS) Google-owned YouTube has paid more than $30 billion to creators, artists, and media companies in the last three years,...

22 FIRs filed in Delhi tractor rally violence; 86 cops injured

New Delhi, Jan 27 (IANS) A total of 22 FIRs have been filed by the Delhi Police so far in connection with the violence...

Bilateral vaccine deals putting WHO-led Covax at risk: Tedros

Geneva, Jan 27 (IANS) The World Health Organization (WHO) warned on Tuesday that bilateral deals on Covid-19 vaccines between countries and companies are putting...

Farmers’ violence on R-Day a well-planned conspiracy: BJP

New Delhi, Jan 26 (IANS) The BJP on Tuesday said there was a well-planned conspiracy behind the farmers' tractor parade turning violent in the...