Monday, January 18, 2021

LS refers Data Protection Bill to Joint Parliamentary Committee

- Advertisement -

Delhi sansad parliamentNew Delhi, Dec 12 (ANI): The Personal Data Protection Bill was referred to a Joint Committee on Wednesday with the Lok Sabha adopting a motion moved by Electronics and Information Technology Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad.

Prasad said the “joint committee of the House” will have 20 members from the Lok Sabha and 10 members from the Rajya Sabha and would give its report on the first day of the last week of the next budget session.

Prasad, who had introduced the Personal Data Protection Bill, 2019 earlier in the day, had proposed that it should be referred to the select committee of the two Houses amid demands from the opposition members that it should be sent to the Standing Committee on Information Technology headed by Congress member Shashi Tharoor.

READ ALSO:  Discussed data sovereignty, Digital India with Nadella: Prasad

As Prasad took the names of Lok Sabha members in the joint committee, Trinamool Congress leader Sudip Bandyopadhyay said that they wanted to replace Sugata Roy with Mahua Moitra.

Bandyopadhyay said that Sugata Roy was handling a lot of works and the party cannot spare him.

As Speaker Om Birla asked the Parliamentary Affairs Minister about his views on the suggestion, Prasad proposed that name of Trinamool Congress member may be added later.

He urged Bandyopadhyay to let Roy remain in the committee as he had a vast experience but Bandyopadhyay said it was the party’s decision.

“If you ask me, he (Roy) is the best person in parliament. You can’t change my party’s decision,” he said, adding that the name will be given by the party.

READ ALSO:  Reconsider imposition of data localisation: IAMAI report

Prasad said the joint committee to examine the bill will have 20 members from the Lok Sabha – Meenakshi Lekhi, PP Chaudhary, SS Ahluwalia, Tejasvi Surya, Ajay Bhatt, Col Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore, Sanjay Jaiswal, Uday Pratap Singh, Kirit Premjibhai Solanki, Arvind Dharampuri, Heena Gavit, Rajeev Ranjan Singh, Gaurav Gogoi, Jothimani, Saugata Roy, Kanimozhi, PV Midhun Reddy, Shrikant Eknath Shinde, Bhartruhari Mahtab and Ritesh Pandey.

READ ALSO:  Oppn comes down heavily on Shah; BJP says riots were planned

Congress member Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury said that only two members of the party were on the panel and said the party should have more representation.

The Bill seeks to provide for the protection of the individual in relation to personal data and to establish a Data Protection Authority of India.


(Source: ANI)

India Updates
India Updates is an independent news & Information website. Follow us for regular updates on News and Information.

Follow Us On

Related News


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Trending Topics In India

Covid 19 India Updates

Trending News In India

Trending Showbiz

Trending Sports

Latest Trending News In India

Nitish Kumar woos NRIs to invest in Bihar

Patna, Jan 17 (IANS) In a bid to attract Non-Resident Indians (NRIs) of Bihar origin, Chief Minister Nitish Kumar held talks through video conference with members of the...

Yogi govt to develop Gorakhpur as hub of garment industry

Gorakhpur (IANS): Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath has announced to develop Gorakhpur into a garment industry hub that would give impetus to garment...

Bank credit to manufacturing muted amid pandemic

New Delhi, Jan 17 (IANS) Bank credit to manufacturing sector has remained muted in the current financial year amid the pandemic, while few sectors,...

PM flags off 8 trains to Statue of Unity in Gujarat

New Delhi, Jan 17 (IANS) Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Sunday flagged off eight trains connecting major destinations in various states of the country...